Forum topic

1 post / 0 new
Last post
NorthPort's picture
Last seen: 8 hours 25 min ago
Joined: 03/11/2003 - 00:00
Practice Match - Northern Blues v Port Melbourne

Borough Name Squad of 30 for Blues Practice Match

Port Melbourne will unveil a host of new recruits when they play their first practice match against the Northern Blues at IKON Park on Thursday afternoon.

Coach Gary Ayres has announced a squad of 30 players for the game, which will be the first of four hit outs for the Borough ahead of the season proper getting underway.

Jarryd Blair, Ben Jolley, Dion Johnstone, Jake Gasper, Xavier Fry, Matt Gundry, Perry Lewis-Smith, Ben Giobbi, Geordie Nagle, Charlie Beasley and Harvey Chinn are among those who will all don the red and blue for the first time.

The game will be played under conditions of four ‘flat’ 20-minute quarters, with no time-on applied.

With the mercury set to hit 36 degrees on Thursday, there is little doubt that the game will be played in hot conditions with the first bounce taking place at 4:00pm (note time update); and high player rotations likely to be the order of the day.

Under new training and match day guidelines from AFL Victoria, games must be delayed by at least half an hour if the temperature is at or above 36 degrees by the time of commencement.

Further, the practice game will serve as a curtain raiser to the Carlton vs. Essendon AFL JLT Community Series game set to get underway at 6:40pm.

As a result of this game being a ticketed event, all Port Melbourne members and supporters who wish to attend are required to pre-purchase a ticket either online or at the gate on the day to gain entry.

Gates will open at IKON Park at 3:45pm.

Tickets can be pre-purchased HERE.

Alternatively, any supporters who cannot be in attendance on Thursday will be able to browse any of our social media channels for regular updates from the game.

SQUAD (30):

6. Jordan Lisle
9. Ash Krakauer
10. Matthew Arnot
12. Perry Lewis-Smith
13. Jarryd Blair
15. Daniel Beddison
16. Callum Searle
19. Anthony Anastasio
20. Guy Dickson
21. Ben Jolley
22. Dion Johnstone
25. Tom Hobbs
26. Jake Gasper
27. Charlie Beasley
29. Campbell Walker
30. Ethan Phillips
31. Matt King
32. Blake Pearson
33. Matthew Gundry
34. Hugh Johnson
35. Ben Giobbi
36. Lachie Waddell
38. Sam Michael
39. Geordie Nagle
41. Harvey Chinn
43. Thomas O’Sullivan
45. Jake O’Brien
46. Lachlan Treverton
47. Michael Wenn
48. Xavier Fry

I thought I would go, but its going to be a bit too difficult.

Edited by: NorthPort on 28/02/2019 - 00:47