From Bendigo Advertiser
Reported by Adam Bourke
Full Story
Click Here

BENDIGO Gold star Alik Magin has been rewarded for his consistent season by winning the VFL Coaches Player of the Year award.

The award was announced at last night’s J.J. Liston Trophy vote count in Melbourne.

After each game coaches awarded votes to opposition players and Magin topped the poll on 32 votes.

Gold team-mate Daniel Toman was runner-up on 26.

Magin had played eight games for the Gold Coast Suns and won the Gold’s best and fairest award this year.

The VFL Team of the Year was also announced last night, with Toman named on the interchange bench.

Magin was left out of the team. Troy Selwood was named rover in the team of the year after another strong season with Geelong.

The Liston Trophy was a three-way tie between Geelong’s Jordan Schroder, Box Hill’s Mitch Hallahan and North Ballarat’s Steve Clifton.

They polled 17 votes, one clear of the Northern Bues’ Kane Lambert 16 votes.