Forum topic

1 post / 0 new
NorthPort's picture
Ex-rookies rewarded by coaches

For those following Sam Dwyers 2013 season at the Pies..

[quote]The nature of Collingwood’s upset loss to Gold Coast has been borne out in the latest round of AFLCA Champion Player of the Year voting, with only two Magpies receiving recognition from the competing coaches.

Utility Sam Dwyer and defender Marley Williams were recognised for their impressive performances in a loss with two votes apiece, as a host of Suns players featured heavily, led by captain Ablett, who was unanimously adjudged best on ground following his 49 possession display.

With 31 disposals, including 18 to half time, Dwyer once again laid his claim to best first year player honours at the Magpies, swimming against the tide with relative ease as his remarkable composure and seemingly innate evasive ability saw him amass four clearances and produce two goal assists, in addition to slotting home a major of his own.

Averaging over 18 possessions a game this season, Dwyer’s near seamless transition from VFL football has seen him firmly cement his place within Collingwood’s best 22, capitalising on his rookie list elevation on the eve of round one.

Meanwhile, Williams has filled the considerable void left by the absence of Alan Toovey in accomplished fashion, with his increasingly assured performances earning plaudits from the Collingwood coaching staff.

Whilst overlooked for a rising star nomination thus far, in averaging nearly 16 possessions and three tackles per game, the unassuming Williams has certainly rewarded the Magpies for their decision to elevate him from its rookie list at the end of last season.

Having failed to garner a vote against the Suns, midfielder Scott Pendlebury has slipped to fourth on the AFLCA leader board, while fellow on-ball gun Dane Swan has dropped out of the top 10 as Sydney’s Daniel Hannebery and Kieran Jack take up the challenge to Ablett.

Gold Coast v Collingwood - Round 17
Votes Player Club
10 Gary Ablett Gold Coast
7 Jaeger O'Meara Gold Coast
4 Tom Nicholls Gold Coast
3 Jarrod Harbrow Gold Coast
2 Sam Dwyer Collingwood
2 Marley Williams Collingwood
1 Trent McKenzie Gold Coast
1 Rory Thompson Gold Coast