News topic: 

From the

BRISBANE'S Jarryd Lyons has won the 2023 J.J. Liston Trophy as the VFL's best and fairest player, becoming just the second player from a non-Victorian club to win the award.

Lyons polled 26 votes to finish two ahead of Southport midfielder/forward and former Port Adelaide goalsneak Boyd Woodcock.

Two-time Liston Trophy winner Tom Gribble from Werribee finished in a tie for third with Footscray skipper Lachlan Sullivan.

Lyons, 31, averaged 32.6 disposals, 8.2 score involvements and 7.6 clearances across 14 home-and-away matches to help guide the Lions to another preliminary final appearance.

He received votes in 11 matches, which included six best-on-ground performances.

 AFL Photos

Jarryd Lyons in action during Brisbane's clash with Gold Coast in the 2023 VFL qualifying final. Picture: AFL Photos

Meanwhile, the Lambert-Pearce Medal for the VFLW's best and fairest was shared for the first time with Box Hill Hawks teammates Jordan Mifsud and Akayla Peterson, and Geelong Cats onballer Charlotte Simpson finishing in a three-way tie.

Mifsud, Peterson and Simpson ended tied on 14 votes in a thrilling count where all three winners polled votes in the final round of the season.

Last seen: 19 hours 39 min ago
Joined: 22/11/2004 - 00:00

Of course Jarad Lyons is the son of former Sandringham Captian Marty Lyons who was an excellent VFA player back in the day!

Marty Lyons played 97 games at Sandy 1974 - 1985 and was Captain for a few years when he came back from Melbourne he also played 27 games for Melbourne between 1975- 77.

Last seen: 8 hours 9 min ago
Joined: 21/03/2004 - 00:00

After Lachie Neale’s Brownlow medal win 

Brisbane Lions become only 2nd club in modern VFL (since 2000) to win both JJ Liston and Briownlow Medals in same season.

The other time was 2007 when Geelong won both when Jimmy Bartel won the Brownlow and James Byrne won the Liston Trophy. 

Last seen: 1 day 9 hours ago
Joined: 13/03/2004 - 00:00

Geelong won the afl and vfl double in 2007. The afl and nrl double will be Brisbane on the weekend. Interesting that jason akermanis and Simon black win brownlow in Brisbane's 2002-3 premierships. Lachie neale 2023 will the trebd continue ? Besides omen's I think Brisbane will win on Saturday anyway.